Matariki Friday 28 June 2024 (public holiday)

Year 9

Year 9 ākonga at Tamatea High School are offered a broad based programme with emphasis on the essential learning areas of the New Zealand Curriculum.

Year 9 ākonga work in a homeroom environment. They are taught their core subjects by one Kaiako (teacher) in integrated and meaningful ways. Ākonga have different teachers for PE and Option subjects which gives good variety.

The homeroom learning environment provides ākonga with a place to call their own, where relationships are developed, and engaging learning opportunities are provided. Mātauranga Māori (Māori knowledge such as te reo Māori, tikanga Māori, whakapapa plus more) is prioritised within the learning programme. 

Curriculum Expectations

These are the New Zealand Curriculum Levels that ākonga are expected to be at each junior year level:

End of Year 8Level 4
End of Year 9Level 4 - Early Level 5
End of Year 10Level 5

Junior Learning Pathways Booklet

Please download the Junior Learning Pathways Booklet to assist with subject selection.

In Year 9, the following subjects are compulsory:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Health
  • Social Studies
  • Physical Education
  • Life Readiness Programme

In addition, two courses from the following options are also chosen. These courses are studied for the full year:

  • Art
  • Street Dance
  • Design Technology (Hard Materials)
  • Digital Technology
  • Food & Nutrition
  • Horticulture
  • Japanese
  • Māori Performing Arts
  • Music
  • Project Based Learning
  • Te Reo Māori