Accord Teacher Only Day Tuesday 4 June 2024 (school closed)
Matariki Friday 28 June 2024 (public holiday)

Te Kaiārahitanga | Leadership

Tō Tātou Tumuaki Hou!

Ko Hikurangi te maunga

Ko Waiapu te awa

Ko Ngāti Porou te iwi

Ko Jesse Te Weehi tōku ingoa

It is a privilege to introduce myself as the tumuaki for Tamatea High School. 

Amy and I have been blessed with three children. Isla, Hadassah and Mattias. Isla has just left home and is studying in Auckland, Hadassah is midway through High School and Mattias is in his last year of intermediate.

I have been in education for 20 years, starting out as a music teacher. Witnessing ākonga establish a positive connection with learning, observing their confidence grow, and sharing in the joy of their accomplishments with whānau brings a wide, delighted smile. The last 5 years I have been a Deputy Principal, and I have been honoured to work along with fantastic colleagues and the Fraser High School whānau to make a difference with young people in Hamilton.

I feel inspired when reading the following statement in our school's plans: “Tamatea High School will support our students to dream big for their future journeys''. To have a positive influence supporting our students to chase down their big dreams for the future. I can’t wait to get started.

Jesse Te Weehi

Tumuaki / Principal

principal@tamatea.school.nz

Zac Anderson

Tumuaki Tuarua / Deputy Principal 

zaca@tamatea.school.nz

Katrina McNicoll

Tumuaki Tuarua / Deputy Principal katm@tamatea.school.nz

Meredith Ellingham
Junior (Year 9) & International Dean
meredithe@tamatea.school.nz

Chanel Atkin
Junior Dean (Year 10)
chanela@tamatea.school.nz

Emma Neal
Year 11 Dean
emman@tamatea.school.nz

Tamara Murphy
Year 12 Dean
tamaram@tamatea.school.nz

Josie Burdon
Year 13 Dean
josieb@tamatea.school.nz

Vicky Bowie
Business Manager, Accounts
accounts@tamatea.school.nz

Kaiako - Teaching Staff

John Aloi 
HOD Science
johna@tamatea.school.nz

Rachel Dickinson
PE & Health
racheld@tamatea.school.nz

Chelsea Hay
HOD Aotearoatanga
chelseah@tamtea.school.nz

Renata Lander
Junior Homeroom
renatal@tamatea.school.nz

Brenda Marriner
HOD & Rumaki Māori
brendam@tamatea.school.nz

Cindy Morgan
HOD Careers
careers@tamatea.school.nz

Tynneale Rimmer
English
tynnealer@tamatea.school.nz

Chanel Atkin
HOD Tech, Food & Nutrition
chanela@tamatea.school.nz

Meredith Ellingham
HOD Homeroom
meredithe@tamatea.school.nz

Pyper Horton
Jnr STEM and Drama
pyperh@tamatea.school.nz

Peter Le Bon
Hard Materials
peterl@tamatea.school.nz

Sheree Mason
Maths 
shereem@tamatea.school.nz

Tamara Murphy
HOD Project Based Learning
tamaram@tamatea.school.nz

Amy Rose
Digital Technology
amyr@tamatea.school.nz

Ken Bolland
HOD PE
kenb@tamatea.school.nz

Hugh Forlong-Ford
HOD English/Acting DP Term 1
hughf@tamatea.school.nz

Laleshni Kumar
English
laleshnik@tamatea.school.nz

Sarah Leonard
Junior Homeroom
sarahl@tamatea.school.nz

Aaron Matehe
Māori Performing Arts, Tikanga
aaronm@tamatea.school.nz

Luke Russell
PE, Health, Te Reo
luker@tamatea.school.nz

Josie Burdon
Music
josieb@tamatea.school.nz

Vanessa Harlow
Junior Homeroom
vanessah@tamatea.school.nz

Sanjesh Kumar
HOD Maths/Principal's Nominee
sanjeshk@tamatea.school.nz

Annie Macfarlane
HOD Health
anniem@tamatea.school.nz

Siu Montgomery
Art, Health, English
sium@tamatea.school.nz

Cheryl Pohlen
Junior Homeroom 
cherylp@tamatea.school.nz

Devon Turi
Science, Biology
devont@tamatea.school.nz 

Support Staff

Vicky Bowie
Business Manager
vickyb@tamatea.school.nz

Marion Loughran
Careers Assistant
marionl@tamatea.school.nz

Hayley Hodson
Principal's PA / Admin Leader
hayleyh@tamatea.school.nz

Rosa Samasoni
Librarian
rosas@tamtea.school.nz

Theresa Nepe-Apatu
Sports & Attendance 
theresan@tamatea.school.nz

Alana Tupa'l
School Nurse
nurse@tamatea.school.nz

Carmen Tuhua
Reception
carment@tamatea.school.nz